Know its history and how Chinese enigmatic astrology works

Written by Gary

Did you know that depending on his year of birth you belong to a different sign in the Chinese Horoscope? Unlike Western astrology, china hosts 12 animals with different characteristics that give people attributes and defects.

Your story

The history of the Chinese horoscope is based on Buddhist culture. Buddha, he would have asked for the presence of all the animals and only a dozen animals came to this meeting. In gratitude, Buddha bestowed virtues on everyone who ruled him throughout his life.

The planets and elements

The ancient chinese astronomers was assigned to each of the five planets, the main one of the five chinese elements: Venus, the metal (iron – gold); Jupiter, wood; Mercury, the water – to-air; Mars, fire, and Saturn, the earth.

Chinese constellations

The twenty-eight Chinese constellations are totally different from the eighty-eight Western constellations. For example, The Big Dipper is known as dǒu and the Orion belt as shen. The seven northern constellations are called xúanwǔ. Xuan Wu is also known as the spirit of the northern sky, and in Taoist belief as the spirit of water.

Yin Yang

There is a binary cycle, the “yin Yang”, which together with the cycle of the 5 elements forms a cycle of 10. Even years are yang, and odd years are yin. When the zodiac cycle of the 12 animals is divided into two, each sign can occur only in yin or yang: the Dragon is always yang, the serpent is always yin and so on.

The 12 animals

Each individual personality is associated with an animal representing it, according to the (lunar) Year of birth. It is here that many descriptions of Chinese astrology depart from Western society. Each year in the 60-year cycle contains twelve animals, each with five possible elements, which are modifiers of the animal personality, with a possibility of up to 60 combinations. The animals in question are the following:

  • The rat (or mouse)
  • The ox (or cow)
  • Tiger
  • The rabbit (or hare or cat)
  • Snapdragon
  • Snake
  • Horse
  • The goat (or the sheep)
  • Monkey
  • The rooster (or the Sparrow)
  • Dog
  • The pig (or the boar)

Secret animals

Chinese zodiac is also used to name periods of the day, where each sign corresponds to a “great hour” or shichen, which is a two-hour period (24 divided among 12 animals). According to the shichen in which it is born, each person has a secret animal, as shown below.

The secret animal is what we know as the” ascendant ” in occlusive Astrology.

About the author


Leave a Comment